Mail · Site Map · Contacts 中文 · English  
 ◎ NUDT >> Colleges & Departments >> College of Science >> 
College of Science

Department of Physics
Updated:2010-6-28 9:06:34  Clicks:60620

The Department of Physics, founded in 1979, offers the Ph.D. program, which is a first-category discipline with Atomic and Molecular physics being a National Key Discipline. Our department has a post-doctoral research station as well as master programs that include Atomic and Molecular Physics, Theoretical Physics, Plasma Physics, Condensed Matter Physics, Particle and Nuclear Physics, and Optics. The College Physics Research Center has a net area of 6,100 m2, and equipment totally over 20 million Yuan.

The faculty includes one winner of the National Science Fund for Distinguished Young Scholars (Yuan Jianmin), two winners of the National 100 Excellent Doctoral Dissertation (Chen Pingxing, Luo Jianfeng), one nominee of the National 100 Excellent Doctoral Dissertation (Zeng Jiaolong), one member of the National Hundred, Thousand and Ten Thousand Talent Project (Yuan Jianmin), one Hunan Lotus Scholar (Yuan Jianmin), one member of the National 100 Eminent Teachers (Li Chengzu), one academic leader of the High Performance Calculation National Innovation Team (Yuan Jianmin), three members of the New Century Excellent Researcher Award Program from the Ministry of Education (Zeng Jiaolong, Chen Pingxing, Zhao Zengxiu), and one member of the Hunan 121 Talent Project (Zeng Jiaolong).

The department currently has eight professors, 18 associate professors, two senior engineers, and 16 lecturers. The faculty  includes, 18 master and 20 Ph.D. degree holders.  The department has three teaching and research sections: Fundamental Physics, Modern Physics, and the College Physics Experiment Center. The Fundamental physics section is responsible for the teaching of the public fundamental course of College Physics for the non-physics majors at NUDT, the specialized course for physics undergraduates and graduates of the Department of Physics, a large amount of the fundamental research, and the 11th Five-Year Plan projects and 985 projects. The course of College Physics was awarded the title of National Benchmark Course. Modern Physics is responsible for the teaching of the specialized course of physics and the public course for the undergraduates in the College of Science and the College of Opto-Electronic Science and Engineering, the course of theoretical physics, and some graduate courses. The Modern Physics section currently has undertaken over 20 research projects, including one key project and five general projects of the Natural Science Fund, one National 863 Plan (National Advanced Technological and Research Plan) key project, two projects of the New Century Excellent Researcher Award Program from the Ministry of Education, four projects of the National 100 Best Doctoral Dissertation, three projects of the Hunan Excellent Doctoral Dissertation, and several NUDT scientific research projects. The department has published over 300 academic papers, including 125 SCI-indexed papers which have been cited thousands of times.


National University of Defense Technology
Copyright 1999-2017  © All Rights Reserved:NUDT
Tel:(0731)84575601    Web Service Tel:84573000
Website Establishment:Education Technology Center of Information Center